Top 5 Security Certifications to Boost your Career


Getting certified is one of the best ways to move forward in your career. There are a lot of security certifications out there so we’ve compiled a list of some of the best security certifications that can help to boost your career.

GIAC Security Essentials (GSEC)

Global Information Assurance Certification (GIAC) is the leading provider and developer of Cyber Security Certifications, globally recognized by the government, military and industry leaders. GIAC tests and validates the ability of practitioners in areas including security administration, forensics, management, audits, software security, and legal.

CISSP – Certified Information Systems Security Professional

(ISC)² certifications are globally acknowledged as the Gold Standard in for educating and certifying information security professionals. (ISC)2 provides certification in areas such as information security, system security, authorization, software development, digital forensics and healthcare. The two key certifications are Certified Information Systems Security Professional (CISSP) and Systems Security Certified Practitioner (SSCP).

This certification is designed for candidates interested in the field of information security. The ideal candidates are those who are information assurance professionals and know how to define the information system architecture, design, management and controls that can assure the security of business environments via Dark Reading. 

(ISACA) Certified Information Systems Auditor (CISA)

The CISA certification is a globally recognized certification for IS audit control, assurance and security professionals. With this certification, candidates can showcase their audit experience, skills, and knowledge, and demonstrate the capability to assess vulnerabilities, report on compliance and institute controls within their enterprise.

CISM – Certified Information Security Manager

CISM is another ISACA-offered certification. Whereas its sibling CISA is focused on information auditing, CISM is centered on information security management. Applicants must pass a 200-question exam which will weigh their abilities in developing and managing information security programs, and being able to quarterback the response to information security incidents.

ECSA – EC-Council Certified Security Analyst

This is EC-Council’s sequel to the CEH and builds upon what you know as an ethical hacker to elevate your skills as a penetration tester. However, note that you are not necessarily required to hold a CEH certificate before taking the exam.

The ECSA is focused on helping security professionals and penetration testers validate the analytical phase of ethical hacking by being able to precisely measure and assess the outcome of hacking tools and technologies. ECSA professionals use improved methods and techniques to identify and mitigate risks to information security and network infrastructures across the enterprise.


DFGR is a specialist Recruitment & Executive Search firm that solely focuses in the Digital Forensics & Cyber Security, IT Risk, Intelligence Insights & Analytics and Corporate Investigations space.

Explore our live vacancies here.

Share on FacebookShare on Google+Tweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedInEmail this to someonePrint this page
, , , ,

Leave a Reply

Simple Share Buttons